Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of human beings, traveling has played a significant role in people’s lives. No one can turn a blind eye to the enormous effects of traveling on our daily lives. There is a heated controversy as to whether one should travel in a group led by a tour guide or not. Some people may hold this viewpoint that it is better to have a tour guide in our travels. However, some others may take an opposite point of view and believe that we may feel excited and adventurous when we travel without a tour guide. I, for one, firmly believe that traveling with a group led by a tour guide have many merits, which, without any shadow of doubts, outweigh its demerits. There are quite a few reasons why I subscribe to this idea, three of which are separately elaborated upon hereunder.

One of the reasons coming to my mind at first is that, nowadays, time is one of the most important as well as fundamental parts of human’s lifespan. An empirical study in the United States shows that the majority of tourists who come to the United States, bewildered by numerous touristic places. With this in mind, there is a Persian proverb, the equivalent of which in English may sound like this, “Time is gold! Do not waste it!” This saying clarifies the fact that we should be more careful about maintaining our precious as well as valuable time which can never be obtained again.

Another equally remarkable point in corroborating my stance is that traveling needs money. Furthermore, when one goes to another city or country, he or she has no idea about routes by which they can reach their destination. In other words, there are a variety of ways one can use to arrive at a touristic place. As a result of which, different routes have different lengths and costs as well. Therefore, a tour guide who is familiar with routes can take the cheapest way, and in so doing, tourists can save their money and spend it on other parts of their trip, inasmuch as there are few taxi drivers who want to take the advantages of tourists’ unfamiliarity with new places and charged them a lot of money.

The last but not the least reason for which I have to elaborate has to do with the fact that every society has its own unique as well as distinct culture. Notwithstanding one may get information about the culture of a city he or she wants to visit, this information is not pure and pristine enough, since humankind, from the beginning of Genesis, has experienced considerable changes in the norms of his or her society. For instance, some acts may be legal in one’s society but not in another society. If a tourist does not know about the norms of a society he or she wants to travel to and do something unusual, his or her doing may cause them many problems.

In conclusion, by taking into account all the reasons mentioned above and many other ones, as far as I am concerned, tourists should not take such groups for granted and do their best to make the most of it. Therefore, in my opinion, it is much better to travel in a group led by a tour guide.