Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use reasons and example to support your opinion.

School grades are very important for our futures. They will define many things. Even, with good grades we might be accepted in universities, where others cannot. My high school professor used to say that '' grades are the reflex of our knowledge'' and I agree. I believe that grades have a big influence in students because they encourage students to study hard, and they create pressure in students as well.

In the first place, grades encourage students to study different topics and to research deep. This is the strongest tool use by teachers to make the students study hard. most of the schools in United States teach their students a wide variety of subjects. Thus, students have to work hard to achieve a good score. For instance, I remember when I was in high school, I studied hard to get a good score in each subject because I knew that colleges accept students based on their grades obtained in school. Also, I studied hard because my parents felt really happy when I surprised them with good grades. To get a good grade was always my priority, even I might say that it inspired me to be better. As we can see, grades encourage students.

The second, grades evoke pressure in students because students are afraid of being punished by their parents. I used to study hard, but it wasn't only because I wanted attend to university in the future, also my parents gave me gifts for my grades. For instance, in seventh grade I was in a hurry. Due to the fact that I was playing a lot of video games, I neglected my home works couple of times. My professor told me to improve my grades, if not I might fail the classes. I worried, and I studied hard to rise my score. This experience taught me that grades help students to improve and learn.

Finally, I support the point that grades are very important to help students improve and learn. They create pressure in students, also make students to study subjects in deep. I encourage everyone to keep their grades high because they will provide us with a lot of opportunities in the future.