Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Do you prefer to have long weekend? It is more interesting to work more hours a day to have four days of free time than to work less hours a day but work five days per week. I personally agree with this idea to some extent.

For one thing, people can enjoy having big weekends. First of all, in this situation, people have more time to spend with their family. In today's fast paced and stressful work, people, especially parents, do not have enough time to stay at home. For this reason, a big gap between parents and children is created. Indeed, they cannot appreciate each other and they do not have warm relationships. By spending more time with family, relationships between family members will improve, and the statistic of divorce will be reduced dramatically. Second of all, people can travel to different parts. For instance, with four day weekends, people can plan for a trip. Most of us like trips and traveling, so people not only can get valuable experiences during trips, but also they will have greater spirits for continuing their job and life. Last but not least, people with more free time can exercise. Sports and physical activity can affect directly our health. It can be said that most diseases can be prevented or even cured by exercise. When people have 4 day weekends, they will be interested in sport activities. However, one should not neglect the possibility of long hour days and more free days leading to aggression and destruction.

However, working long hours to have more free time during the rest of the week brings some disadvantages. First, the yield of work will be decreased greatly. Humans can do specific activities in limited amount of hours every day because they will get bored. Therefore, long day working can diminish productivity. Next, people want to finish their work days to have free time, so they cannot focus very well on their work. Workers and employees usually think about what they should do for weekend.

To cap it all, the dispute over the priority of long day working to have more free time versus the short day working every day but having fewer weekend days or the other way round has not been settled yet. In my view, it depends on each person and their job. Nevertheless, I personally think that the benefits of more work per day to have more free days are bigger because I can do many tasks and activities. In the end, I believe that a wise combination can lead to optimum results.