Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for the government to spend money on new buildings than to preserve historic or traditional buildings and homes.

The expense how the government spends is an important issue for the country. Some may think that it is worthy to spend money on new investment such as new buildings, while others may support that the money should spend on maintain historic buildings. In my opinion, it is more significant for the government to preserve traditional architecture.

First of all, historic buildings represent the culture of a country which is critical for the government. A well-preserved old structure and appearance can present how the government evaluate the value of the culture of their country. It costs money to have these preservation. If a government not puts efforts on maintaining the historic architecture, it may be regarded as not respect to their culture. Therefore, it is important for the government to spend money on sustaining traditional buildings.

Secondly, the government can spend less money on preserve historic buildings than on new buildings. Budget is always the critical factor of the government. Imaging that building a new construction needs to include the cost of design, materials and labors; it may also produce pollution and noisy. On the contrast, preserving traditional building only need awesome technicians who may cost not much than build a whole building. It is clear that which decision can save budget which is significant for the government.

Last but not least, preserving the historic building can enhance the growth of economic. Tourism industry is a great and crucial element of a country. With the famous historic building, people are more willing to travel to the country which is beneficial to the government. Take my experience for example, there is always a travel itinerary to visit historic buildings whenever I join a tour group. It can briefly illustrate that why preserving historic buildings is more important for the government.

In conclusion, it is more important for government to spend money on preserving historic buildings than new ones. Not only because of the aspect of culture remaining but also on the reason of the economics.