Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to study history and literature than it is for them to study science and mathematics. Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

We live in the age of science and technology. If we take a deep look at every aspects of our life today, we see how science and technologies have revolutionized our life and have changed our lifestyle. Although, some people claim that history and literature are more important, I agree that science and mathematics play a more essential role in humankind life, because developments in science and mathematics are more practical and beneficial for humankind.

To begin with, I assert that studying science and mathematics are more practical. Owing to studies and scientific achievements, people have a healthier and more convenient life. With the advances in medical sciences, people live longer now, because we can treat many diseases that were incurable in the past. This is a great sign of hope for human race. Moreover, we can observe so many improvements and progresses in engineering, which undeniably have altered our lifestyle fundamentally. We have bigger and better cities now. We have safer houses and cars. We have internet and computers, which their significant effect on our life is plain to everyone. Without the studies and researches in science and mathematics, none of these could have happened.

Besides being more useful and beneficial, research and study in science and mathematics is better for our future. As far as I’m concerned, we face some vital issues in the twentieth century such as environmental problems, high energy demand, and water shortage. How do we solve these problems? Absolutely by study of science and mathematics. For example, with the advent of Nano-materials we can reduce the air pollution and groundwater contamination to a significant degree. What’s more, owing to the new green sources of energy such as solar energy or bio-fuels, we would be able to solve the energy crisis soon. I wonder how history and literature could aid humankind as the science and mathematics can.

To conclude, studies and researches in science and mathematics, nowadays, are proved superior to studies of history and literature. Although some may argue that we can learn valuable lessons from history, but it does not convince me that studying history and literature is more important. How our lifestyle would be like if we haven’t put more emphasis on science and mathematics?