Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The most important investment of a company is to improve the skills of its employees

In recently years, with the development of intellectual economics, human resources have been playing an increasingly vital role in a company’s economic performance. From my perspective, however, the argument that improving employees’ skills is the most important investment for a company seems over-emphasized.

Admittedly, enhancing employees' abilities is conducive to a company's growth. After several training courses, green hands are less likely to commit blunders and are apt to excel in his/her area quickly. Experienced workers get to know the new trend of businesses and adjust their work accordingly. Meanwhile, employees may also be intrinsically motivated as they consider their job as a rewarding and meaningful one. However, from another perspective, if companies fail to retain the skillful-trained workers, they are spending money fostering talents for their competitors. More money allocated to train workers, less money left for salaries and bonus, which attributes to resignment. To some extent, it is essential to raise salaries to keep talents and encourage workers’ self-improvement.

In addition, it is more important, as least not less, to invest in advanced technology and equipment. Technology becomes more and more important under the era of Big Data. Apple, Microsoft or Google all invest a huge amount of money on VR or Artificial Intelligence. Companies are not schools. They are to sell products or services to make profits. Technology, served as a core competitiveness, guarantee the continuing revenue and prosperous prospect. For example, HUAWEI developed their own chips and became one of the most successful companies in China. Google, based on years of innovation, master in big data analysis technology, providing the abundance of products such as google maps or google research. Without core technology, companies can only copy and imitating, which cannot have a loyal customer base and be competitive in the market.

Moreover, the investment in recruitment, especially for the higher position also plays an important role for a big company. With different people working in different capacities, it's easy for a group to fall out of touch and not realize how their work might be interacting with other people's efforts. Effective leadership can help guide the direction of a group. Also, a nearly inevitable component of group work is interpersonal conflict. A good leader will be able to step in when necessary to mediate interpersonal conflict, serving as an objective force pushing parties to some form of compromise or reconciliation. Training makes for competent workers, leadership makes competent workers coordinate with each other and producing better performance.

Taking all the factors discussed above into consideration, many other investments for a big company are indispensable and the one to improve the efficiency and proficiency of its employees is just one of those important aspects, but not the most important one.