Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: People should sometimes do things that they do not enjoy doing.

Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Life is not always about the things we like to do. Sometimes we have to do things which are not enjoyable. Although participating in pleasurable activities is desirable, in my view it is also necessary at times to do something we do not enjoy. The bases for my view are personal, social and financial.

Personally, doing things we don’t like improve our personality and help us become more mature. For instance, when parents have their first baby they are forced to give up their freedom in order to take care of their baby. There are times when parents barely get enough sleep and still have to get up early in the morning and go to work. Similarly, university students have to spend a lot of time studying. In spite of being tempted to go out with friends and attend parties, those who have self-control and keep their priorities straight achieve high scores. Through such life experiences people become stronger, wiser and more responsible.

From a social perspective, we live in a society which imposes its obligations on us. Each person belongs to diverse social groups and plays various social roles. Each of us has to attend birthday parties, weddings and funerals to show we care about other people too. Participating in such events and conform to social norms teaches us to go beyond our own selfish needs.

Financially, people need to work long hours to keep local, national and international economy growing. We need to support our own family in particular and our community in general. In fact most of us work many more hours than we like to work. Only in this way are we able to live comfortable and save for our retirement days.

In conclusion, life places huge demands on us. By participating in a wide variety of events, both pleasant and unpleasant, we can learn about different aspects of life and improve ourselves in various ways.