Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment – doing things they like to do – rather than doing things they should do.

Some people say that people these days focus on their personal enjoyment rather than things that are more important. However, there is no doubt that people cannot concentrate on their own happiness due to several facts. "21 century is a depleted copy of what has been thrived in 20 century" said Pansanghyung, one of a brilliant mind in the internet world. I am, to a huge extent, agree with this standpoint. In the ensuing paragraph, I will try to shed some lights on my perspective through ample examples and conspicuous reasons.

The exquisite point to be mentioned here is that people seemingly indulged in their personal joy is a delusion. On the contrary, people often corner themselves with a limited kind of retreatment due to the harsh living life they are facing. My personal experience will give an good example. When I was working around 10 hours a day without holiday, I could not do anything but to to phone games that do not require much of a brain usage. I used to have many kinds of hobby, but all that healthy habit of reading and learning all turned in vain due to the excessive amount of working hours that I had to fill in. This anecdote illustrates that the indulgement in a personal joy is not a result of forgetting what's important, but rather a consequence of harsh labor that young people face.

Another point to be mentioned here is that there is not much of things that young people should do, compared to the previous generation. The older people used to grown in an environment with rapid development and feasible chances of a class rising, so it was easier for them to set a rigid goal and pursue it robustly. However, in this era of 21 century, the world is not like before anymore. No one forces anyone to get involved in a certain kind of opportunity because they do not exist anymore. What young people are facing instead is a wide open distractors.

Although the aforementioned points are the first reasons to cross the mind at a first glance, it does not mean that they are the only one. Actually, there is another subtle point which must be borne in mind. It should be noted that people from the later years of 20 century were freer than people nowadays do. To be specific, with the rise of the 68 revolution all around Europe, hippie and yuppie culture rapidly spread across the ocean, far reaching the U.S. Those people that were engaged in the hippie culture used a lot of drugs for their spiritual enlightenment, and lived inside the alternative community that did not discriminate people with their gender, race, or ethnicity. This kind of freedom has vanished as the world developed more. And after the 2008 economic crisis, people lost their faith in the wealth and hope of advance.

To make a long story short from the above-mentioned points and reason, one can safely draw a conclusion from the above arguments that though people theses days are focusing on their personal enjoyment, it's rather a result of hopelessness and lack of goals. Furthermore, it is possibly an action towards increasing unpredictability of their life.