Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People who have learned many different skills are more likely to succeed than those who focus on learning only one skill.

In the modern era, how to become a successful person in life has raised a lot of debates among academicians. Some might hold the view that it is more efficient to learn as many skills as possible. However, others might maintain that focusing on one skill could be considered more beneficial. I personally contend that depending on the situation both options can be effective, and in the following, I will bring outstanding reasons why.

First off, people generally tend to reach their goals as fast as possible, so they usually consult with experts to find their golden way of success without any waste of time. For example, from the early stages in school, they try to discover their talents and favorite subjects. So, they can start learning related required skills sooner to guarantee their future careers. They usually show a great persistence to become skilled in one special field and may even avoid learning other skills. Statistics show that children who have discovered their talent from the very beginning, through being inspired by their family atmosphere, their parent’s jobs or a very organized school schedule, which shaped their thoughts to concentrate on just one thing, commonly become quickly successful compared to their classmates who were wandering around learning different skills. These children may be called gifted, a gift that may be started out very small, perhaps invisible to most people, but then they had added, built upon, and massively extended it by concentrating on the subject.

On the other hand, being in the right place cannot happen to everyone. Some may start to learn a skill with so much enthusiasm, but after a while lose their concentration and energy to continue it due to the lack of harmony with what they really love. As a result, they may switch to studying another skill. Although it may seem time-consuming, these people gain a good amount of various experiences, which may help them at the end of the day. For example, young Einstein used to work in a patent office as a typist for several years, but who knows how much typing others’ scientific results had affected his growing mind. If he had just focused on physics, would he become as distinguished as he became later? Although it is undeniable that mastering in one field leads to fast progress, no one can deny the role of creativity in achievements. Mixing the things one learns from various skills, the outcome may become unique and valuable. Also, people may even find this more fantastic to experience different careers and ultimately choose what they really enjoy. It may take longer to discover, but brings happiness for the one who has struggled hard to achieve.

All in all, becoming successful and making a very good living on what one really loves to do is a great gift, which requires learning skills. I firmly recommend that people should first consider their talents and desires to identify the skills needed to learn. If they focus on one skill, they reach what they want sooner, while they may enjoy discovering more fields by learning different skills.