Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Social media is a good way to express personal views.

With the marked growing size of media and the well-developed information technology, social media are raising their influence among the public. Indeed, the information on social media is so wide spread that millions of people are informed at the first time. That’s why some persons who wants their view presented to pubic rely on the social media. However, exposing personal views to pubic may lead to severe consequence, so it is better to think twice.

First of all, expression personal views on social media will bring you a lot of audiences, including somebodies that dislike you. The reasons why they are against you vary from opposing your idea to just simply trying to annoy you. It is true that you always have a group of people who object to you, but the way they display their disagreement can be terrible in such an open environment while they can hide their identities. Instead of debating with you, they may directly make personal abuse to you, which caused a huge pressure. Because of the existence of those people, presenting personal idea on social media may not be a good choice.

In addition, you are fully responsible to whatever you said on social media. Since you are observed by people all over the world through social media when expressing your idea, it is hard to deny your words. In order to overcome others’ query, your idea is supposed to be highly logical and convincing, which is not an easy task. Besides, some kinds of personal views that are not suitable for presenting on social media, for example, the dissatisfaction with some policies or opinions that are not “politically correct”, once being stated on pubic, can cause severe criticism or even makes you be punished by laws. So your personal views is limited by social media.

What’s more, your opinion may even be changed by the editors of those social media to draw the public attention, which not only makes you unable to present your own view, but also will cause unnecessary trouble on you because a hot topic is always controversial. For example, a writer wrote a report about that we should take our efforts to help children who cannot afford the school fee. The newspaper stressed a small part of the report in which the writer mention that the government still needs more effort on those children, and made the report seem like mainly complaining about the authorities. Then readers were surprised at the report and went to buy the newspaper to read the details, while few people realized that they should take actions to help those children. The existence of those media without virtue increases the risk of depending on social media.

To sum it all, it is obvious that social media is far from a good way for presenting your personal opinions.