Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is most people's dream to have a successful career, but how do we achieve that goal? In order to become successful, some argue that people should try new things and take risks, but others think that it is better for people to do only what they know to do well. As for me, I strongly agree that successful people try new things and take risks rather than doing what they already know.

First, in order to be successful, people need to have to break through their obstacles, and trying new techniques can allow people to do so and make improvements. Take my job for example, as a general surgeon, we must constantly learn new techniques and update knowledge. Before, the laparotomy procedures, which cured disease by making a big incision through the patient's abdominal wall to gain access into the abdominal cavity, were the standard procedures, but the patients would suffer more pain and longer recovery time. Instead, the laparoscopic procedures, which can access the abdominal cavity by using only small holes made on the patient's abdominal wall, give patients less pain and faster recovery with the same treatment efficacy. The learning process for a new technique is time-consuming and tough, but those surgeons who were willing to try the new procedure and tackle with all the difficulties finally succeeded. They have better results and attract more patients than the surgeons who stick to the traditional laparotomy operations.

Secondly, it is important for people to seize the new opportunity to be successful, and trying new things enable them to see more opportunity. For instance, the owner of Honestbee company saw the needs from office workers in the big city, who did not have time and efforts to go grocery shopping. Therefore, it tried a different way of selling things by setting up the website and cooperating with a wide variety of supermarkets and retail stores. Customer can easily pick up items from the website, and it help do the shopping and deliver the products to them within one hour. The company is prospering and has expanded its business from Singapore to other cities in Southeast Asia. On the other contrary, many of the traditional stores have significant decrease in profits because they use the old way to do business but fewer customers go to the real stores for shopping nowadays.

Last but not least, to be successful, people have to be creative enough to keep up with the changing world, but doing what they already know only limits their scope of imagination. For example, Kodak used to be a big company in making cameras and camera films, but it did not expect the rapid advances and prevalence of digital cameras. Eventually, Kodak no longer existed in the market. Moreover, back to 10 to 20 years ago, Nokia cell phones were the best-selling cell phones everywhere, but Nokia failed to smell the growing trends toward smartphones, and ended up in a great loss. Apparently, only doing things people know how to do well often makes them think inside the box and does not prevent them from failure.

In conclusion, I believe that people who get final success are those who are willing to try new things and take risks, because it can enable them to make breakthroughs to solve difficult problems, to seize new opportunity, and to be creative to keep up with the changing world and distinguish them from ordinary people.