Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities as they give to their university libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

First we have to decide about the role of universities in our societies, whether it is the place of recreational activities or not. It is the institution, where pupils from different parts of the world assemble to enlighten themselves with the profundity of knowledge. Thus, according to me, university should give priority in spending their funds on embellishing its facilities and enriching the collection of books of its library.

Learning inside the four wells of a classroom is not sufficient for a student to gather very bit of information in a particular subject, though it is very true that, a student starts acquiring more knowledge when professors deliver a speech and try to elaborate and make students understand the intricacies of a subject. It is also obvious that, during lecture hours, if some doubts arise in the minds of the students they can directly ask instructors for better explanation of the topic. But, the world, waited outside universities, is much more competitive than one imagines. So, to supress the others in wit, intelligence, knowledge and excel in one’s career, one needs to delve deep into the field of interest and there comes the importance of the library.

Library preserves a vast ocean of knowledge within its every corner. One can find necessary books related to any topic in the ample collection of university library. If one wants to check out on a particular subject, say Measure Theory in Probability, he can come across many books written by different authors on the same topic and easily choose a suitable book for his learning. Moreover, library maintains every edition of a particular book so that one can find corrected or modified versions also.

But, we can’t deny the impacts of recreational activities on our daily lives. These extra-curricular activities help us to get rid of the ennui of stressful study. So, during this time, we can relax ourselves and regain our energy and enthusiasm for further study. So, if universities spend some portion of money in creating tennis courts, football and cricket play ground or swimming pools, they have positive effects on students. But, the concern for facilitating recreational activities can’t be graver than that for library.