Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects. Use specific reasons and examples to su

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that team working, particularly in educational systems like schools, is better than working alone and team working positively affects on overall performance. Contrary to this popular belief, there are those who argue that in team working only one or two persons work hard and the other persons are just free riders. However, I am inclined to believe that the advantages of team working outweigh its drawbacks and it is more beneficial, thus, it is better that teachers force students to work together on assigned projects. My statement will be substantiated by following paragraphs.

Working as a team member helps students to effectively interact with each other and try together to achieve a goal which is obtaining a high grade in this case. They learn how to discuss the problem and possible solutions with each other. At the same time, they learn how to look at the problem and solutions from the other perspectives and how to react when someone in their team does not agree with them. When I was 12, our teacher divided all students to small groups and assigned a project to each group.

At the time, our teacher started to talk about the importance of team working and taught us how to behave when we are working as team members. As I remember at the due time of the project, most of the groups obtained high scores because the members of groups had worked with each other very well and learned how to interact with the other members.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration is that students get opportunities to learn from each other. Take doing a research and giving a lecture about birds immigration. To do this project, the students should study different books, search on the internet, collect stuff as a report, and make some slides for their lecture. While some students might be good at searching on the internet and finding relevant information, they might be not good enough at preparing attractive slides for the lecture. By working as a group, students have such opportunities to learn and improve their skills.

Due to the aforementioned ground, I am inclined to believe that working together can positively influence on the learning of students due to learning about the other viewpoints as well as exchanging information. In my opinion, team working is a skill that persons must be taught during their education either in school or in university.