Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students in universities, in addition to being educated in the specific field, also can flourish their other talents by using university facilities. Although some people are of the opinion that universities are places for only education, and all budget of those must be spent in educational equipment such as libraries, I strongly disagree with this. As far as I am concerned, same funding must be spent on sports and social activities. Among many reasons why I told this opinion, two stand out and will be discussed hereunder.

To begin with, alongside study, exercise is very necessary for students, because that reduces stress and excretes toxic from body and as a result, he or she will have a healthy life and fresh mind. In this regard, there is an old Persian proverb that states, “Healthy mind is in a healthy body”. In addition, statistics show the fact that the students who are members of a university’s sports team, not only flourish their sport’s talents but also they are successful in their courses. Therefore they can progress in both of these fields. Even there are an examples that national teams players have been chosen from university’s competition. For instance, Oshin Sahakian is one of the famous players of Iranian national basketball team who was a student of Isfahan University, was choose for the national squad from university’s basketball team.

Another reason for this view is that students, in order to take social responsibilities in future, should be prepared in university. For this propose, students improved their community relations by participating in university’s social activities. In this regard, we can note that the most successful managers in various fields have been directors of student associations in their university life. In other words, It is undeniable that the more experience you can gain, the more success can achieve in future ,so students can gain invaluable experience and enjoy them in their future life by attending to social activities and being in the different situation.

In summary, with all this taken into account, I believe that university is a small scale of a city which is established on education basis, but we must be aware that we can not forget other requirements of citizens. Therefore university presidents in order to provide all the needs of students should allocate a proper budget to each university’s activities such as sport, social, educational and other activities.