Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

If people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that he would be more satisfying.

Use specific reasons and examples to support you answer.

When considering whether people should take a secure job or wait for a job that seems more satisfying, economically speaking, I think the secure one can offer a lot more benefits. The secure job provides immediate financial security. That is, we don’t have to worry much about the money, and we are able to support our basic needs, such as the expenses on food and leisure activities.

First, we have to buy food to survive, and the salary of the secure job may not be much but should be able to afford our daily meals. Fortunately, I live in Taipei City, which is indeed the food capital of Taiwan. CNN once made an interesting comment on the food culture of Taipei—the city of gluttony. I believe it’s meant for a compliment, describing how many mouthwatering cuisines we can try in Taipei. We can access diverse food easily in Taipei. The pay of a secure job should be quite enough for tasting the most local and famous snacks at the traditional nights markets. Food, such as stinky tofu, deep fried chicken breast, pearl milk tea, oyster omelet, and so on, can be bought at a fairly reasonable price. In Taipei, only a small amount of money will be enough for a gourmand like me. Thus, there is no reason that we should wait for a dream job perhaps with high wages and starve ourselves in the delicious city.

Entertainment is equally important, since we are now facing a fast-pacing society and need time to take a break, doing something that we enjoy. Without the financial support from the secure job, life becomes more tedious and stressful, not to mention the anxiety about waiting for a more satisfactory job. I love to watch movies to relieve myself from a day of hard work. However, to be honest, it’s not a totally free hobby. Renting a DVD and going to a movie theater both costs some money. Animations are my favorites. For example, for an animation fan like me, the highly-praised movies, Frozen and Toy 3, are definitely the must-see. Therefore, taking a more secure job first ensures my pleasure to relax. Living a stress-free life may contribute to the working performance, and maybe transform the secure job into a dream one.

In conclusion, I support the idea that we should accept the secure job first. Not only does the job instantly secure our basic survival needs like food, but also elevates our quality of life through financing our personal hobbies.