Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

There is no doubt that making decision is one of the most prominent things which show how much one person's personality grow. No one can blind eye to this factor's influence on children's lives. A controversial question is raised related to the issue is that how much do the children rely on their parents when they want to decide? Some people may hold this viewpoint that today, children depend more on their parents in decision times than past. However, others look this concept from different lens. In my perspective, the second belief which is that children in past relied more on their parents when they wanted to make a decision, is true. I will pinpoint some of outstanding reasons in the following.

One of the most principal reason coming mind related to the statement is that through age of in formation explosion, nowadays, parents are not so up to date about their children's lives. This means that most of children's opinions are completely various with their parents. Therefore, children find that their parents do not help them in most of aspects of their lives. Take the personal experience as an example. When I want to choose my major in university, I asked about this to my father and understood that he did not any knowledge about the new majors and his knowledge was only related to the typical majors. Eventually, I did not utilize his help and selected by myself. This illustrates that children today, do not relay on their parents knowledge when they make a decision.

Furthermore, the other equally predominant reason supported my idea is that today, parents find that allowing the children to select alone can help to boost their self confidence. From psychological stand point, when one child makes one decision by himself, he will feel independency and it is far better for his future life owing to this fact that in his future life or career, there will be plenty number of situation which he would decide alone without other's help. Consequently, the parents, interpret this important factor's effect on their children's personality and do not interfere to their decisions and permit them to choose their way individually.

The last but not the least reason is that in the past time, the children always lived with their parents and their parents always know their problems and their living matters. So, they was able to put their perspective on the children's decision and in most time change the erroneous decisions. On the other hand, todays, children give their parents up as soon as possible to experience their independent lives and often, their parents do not have any information about the children. Besides, the children in modern days want to demonstrate their ability and growth and one of tools to perform this decide by self and do not accept other's opinion and consultant, although sometimes the make the wrong decision.

From what has been mentioned above, we can easily reach the conclusion that todays, children lay much less on their parents than the past when they want to make a decision. All in all, it is anticipated that children will tend to decide alone more and more because of above said reasons.