Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The decisions that we make is really important in our lives. By making a wrong dicision we may destroy our future completely. Some people believe that in todays world, young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives; others would disagree. In my view the youth still depend on their parents to make decisions for them for the following reasons.

First and foremost, parents are really knowlegable and they always try to help their children to make the best decisions for their lives and decide about a lot things is not as easy as they seem. For instance, five years ago, when I wanted to attend the univesity of NewYork, I thought that it is good to follow my pasion and study art. I search the Net a lot and all the websites said that being an artist is great and help you to be successful. After talking with my parents, my father said that it is not a good way and I would definitely ruin my entire life if I chose that major. At first I got angry because being an artist was something that made me happy and whenever I spent time on my paintings I forgot everything. But I decided to do what my father suggested and it was to study mechanical engineering which was my second choice and spend my free time on painting. He also found a great teacher who tutor me in the weekends. Now after five years, I am glad that I follow my father's instruction and I feel that I would never be able to be as successful as I am now. This experience thought me that my parents are more reliable than some unknown people on the Internet because they are concern about my life.

Second, it is true that young people are well-educated and they can think better that young people in the past, but it is important to concider the fact that the problems and difficulties that these people are facing are more complex too. For example, the only thing that young people have to concider in their lives about twenty years ago was finding a job which was always available for them when they grew up and marrying and starting their own family. But now, with advancements in technology and all the advantages that it bings to human's lives, it is important to know that there are a lot more difficulties that young people encounter when they become adolescent such as studying in the university, their major, find a job, great income, find a house and even finding a reliable friend or also spouse is really difficult too.

In sum, though sum may believe that today the youth are more knowlegable are they have the ability to make important decisions without the help of their parents, as you can see their lives become more complex and as a result not only are they not independent from their parents, but also they need that more than any time.