Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We live in an era of time that witnessing rapid changes in all the facet of life. The controversial question which arises is how children are able to keep up with such fast pace? A plethora of people is in the conviction that this vulnerable segment of modern societies learns how to become more independent. Contrary to this popular belief, there are those who take this point of view that the young people are dependent on their family same as the past. I am of the opinion that, the first group thinks more thoroughly, and the following explanation will further elaborate on this perspective.

First and foremost, there is no denying to the fact that accessibility to wide range of information becomes an integral part of the contemporary communities. Advance educational system is the primary development which has familiarized children with new world since the early ages. Nowadays, there are particular experiments that revealed the children’s' talents. Therefore, the path of their life is determined through the instinctive capabilities. While in the past, children usually forced to continue the inherited jobs which almost had nothing to do with their interest or abilities. Besides, technological advance in search engine and particularly the Internet are accounted as other useful tools which plays prominence role in transferring the information to the current children. Undoubtedly, there is no need that they ask every single question that they may have from their parents. Instead, they type that words in Google and figure out the best answer for their requirements. Admittedly, their dependency to the parents reduces incredibly.

Another vital fact that should be taken into consideration is that civilized societies have undergone fundamental alterations in the family structure. In this period, children is raising in families that both of the parents works; consequently, they have to learn how to cook, how to take care of themselves, how to make critical decisions and so forth. Obviously, it is not surprising if they become soon independence. Whereas, in the past kids spent most of their time at least with their mother, while the father of the family did not work as much as today\s father works. Furthermore, due to paramount importance of this issue that children are alone in most of the stages of their lives, they usually decide to live separately from their parents as soon as possible. That is why in many countries juveniles start their independent life when they are 18 year old and this is critical factor that distinguish the modern children from their past genera

On the basis of the point mentioned above, I am convinced that there are many convincing reasons for the independency of today’s young people. Indeed, they not only have access to diverse kind of information but also place in circumstances that force them to choose live independently from low-ages.