Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Som people believe that learning about facts is more important than understanding concepts.I subscribe to the view that understanding ideas and concepts is more important.

To begin with, understanding the concept will provide the students with the opportunity to understand a broader range of facts. Having realized the mechanism according to which some facts occur, Students will be able to deduce how other similar facts take place. For example, if instead of knowing the fact that the sky is blue, the students realize that we see this because of light fraction, or the wavelength received by our eyes, they can learn numerous similar fact. Similarly, learning mathematical concepts will enable students to solve various problems.

In addition, sometimes, knowing about facts rather than concepts will hinder our powers of imagination. Take foundations of quantum mechanics as an example; if we get used to them and know that they are in fact happening in our everyday lives, we are actually taking for granted what is still obscure and we do not have bright notions of. As a result, we will not question the postulates further, which would be a detriment to the development of science.

On the other hand, some facts are much more important to be learned directly, not by deduction, for deduction sometimes fails when it comes to moralities. For instance, if we know the concept that cruelty is not humane and it should be condemned, we will deduce that the cruel people are intolerable and we are allowed to abhor them. However, things will be different if we consider the fact that we all need to love and tolerate each other for we have to live alongside and there is no other choice.

To sum up, even though it is sometimes vital for the students to learn the facts directly without considering the concepts behind them, I believe most of the times