Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

It is more important to keep your old fiends than it is to make new friends.

Through this modern world, people can make a connection with each other through mass medias . As a result of this phenomenon, they will find friends from different nations. People can continue their relationships with these pen pal friends or they may decide to finish their relations. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this idea is whether human beings should keep their old friends and pay attention to this matter as an important issue or not. Some people believe that every single person should try to continue his or her relationship with old friends, while other believe that he or she has to establish new connections and find new friends. I do believe that the advantages of making new friends far outweigh the advantages of the former attitude.

First and foremost, surrounding world make people to change their situation dramatically. Thus, people cannot stay connected to their old friends forever. By way of example, when U.S.A attacked Iraq, a huge number of people died and some of them were forced to leave their hometown. So they immigrated to new regions. While most of their friends and relatives were killed in the war, for overcoming the hard situations, they looked for new friends.

The second reason why I advocate this point of view lies in the fact that, sometimes old friends show unreasonable behaviors. You feel uncomfortable during the relationship. Why should this bothering friendship continue? For instance, my sister in law, Sara, told that she had an old close friend in school, named Susan. They always spent their time with each other. Even their families had a kind relationship. During their last exam, Susan wanted to cheat and asked Sara for help. But, she did not pay attention to her request. At last, Susan could not pass that course. From that time, her behavior changed. She did not call Sara and ignored her. As a result, Sara decided to end up that relationship and start a new connection with someone else.

The last but not the least is that, human beings are changing continually. Consider a child. For example, new researches reveal that the kids who are very playful during their childhood, turn into calm humans when they grow up. Also, these results show that their relations change dramatically. While they prefer silent rooms during their adulthood, noisy places were their ideal situations in the past. As he or she grows up, his or her behaviors and tastes are start to change. Thus, it is obvious that their friendships are updating through the time and old friends are lost in their lives.

By taking all above mentioned arguments into consideration the following conclusion can be drawn about the issue. Some societies presume that people should keep the connection with their old friends till the end of life. However, this idea is controversial to some extent. Underestimating the advantages of making new friends is not logical. It is highly recommended that people should broaden their views in relationship issues and try to establish new connections and take it as important as keeping old friends.