Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Today, most of the parents try to encourage their teenage children to take a part-time job. They may have different purposes for doing this. For example, reducing the spendings of the family or trying to get rid from their children during the day. Some people believe that taking part time jobs for children is useful and parents should promote their children to get a job. On the other hand, others not because they think that the children should concentrate on the school and taking a job will waste their time. Personally, I think that if parents encourage their children to take a part-time job, they will really help their children for their adult life.

First, they learn that how they can become financially independent from their family. If they earn money from a job, they are less dependent to their family for money because they have a little amount of money which they can use it for any purpose. Also, they learn how to manage their earnings in the future. For instance, I used to work for a computer company when I was 16 and because I was in a highschool, my job was part-time and they paid me around $40 a week. After graduation from my high school, I continued my job in that company and my income rose to $200 a week. As a result, I become financially independent from my family and I didn't get any money from my parents for my daily spends. Moreover, I tried to invest my money in industry by buying some stocks. Eventually, I applied abroad for a university and I afforded all of the costs needed to apply and migrate to a new country without any assistance from my family. Hence, I think that if a child do a part-time job from highschool, it can become financially independent from its family.

Second, a child who works for an employer can learn a lot of knowledge and experiences that are useful in the future. When you learn new techniques, there are more jobs available for you in the future because you know more. For example, as I mentioned before, I worked for a company 7 years ago. I had abundant knowledge about Microsoft Windows Server and also managing clients withing a computer network. However, I didn't have any knowledge about Linux, which it is an open source operating system and it is quite different from Microsoft Windows. In those days, Linux was used in almost all companies and I decided to learn linux. After a year of working with my coworker in that company, I learnt Linux without paying money to anyone, just by sitting beside my coworker. This experience thaught me that you can learn a lot of things in a job without spending money.

Third, they can manage their time and also their energy in the future in order to become more efficient in their daily life. If they handle their job and studies in highschool from childhood, then they can manage their stressful life in adult life. For instance, my highschool had a mathematic teacher who was a high demanding teacher. He gaves us a lot of assignments to do every week and doing my part-time job and these assignments was really hard for me because I didn't have enough time to handle them. However, I tried to create a daily schedule for my job and also my assignments. I wrote them on a piece of paper and after that, I could manage everything in my daily life because I had a program for every single second of my life. Finally, this really helped mein my adult life because as I am at the university from 08:00 to 16:00, I have a full time job from 17:00 to 23:00 and I can easily manage my university assignments and also doing my job. Thus, my childhood experience really helps me to manage my current situation in adult life.

In sum, I think that parents should encourage their children to go for a work. Not only for money, but also for numerous benefits in their adult life such as managing their time and learning new things.