Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree with the statement above. I don’t think that we can benefit more from traveling domestically than from traveling to foreign countries. I believe that traveling outside of one’s country has a lot more to offer. My opinion is thus based on the following reasons.

First of all, traveling to foreign countries can benefit us in terms learning more about different cultures. One who has traveled to many countries can get familiar with as many cultures. For example, one of my professors at university has been to a big number of countries. He says that while being in multiple places, he got to know more about the differences those cultures have. I think most of the experiences he has shared with us during his lectures were drawn from his numerous experiences while traveling to different countries.

Secondly, traveling to other countries can be helpful in terms of learning another language. It may allow more exposure to the spoken language that one may be learning. For example, in my freshman year at university, I was actively involved in learning Turkish. And in the year following, when I got to travel to Turkey for some time, I was lucky to be able to practice Turkish in the real setting. Upon arrival back, I was more fluent in that language. Therefore, I believe that traveling to another country may have an important benefit in one’s linguistic purposes.

Finally, traveling to other countries may mean new relationships. It is not uncommon to make new friendships while having a trip to a foreign country. My traveling experience in Turkey is an example. Back then, while in Turkey, I was able to meet new people who I still keep in touch with. Some of those people have even visited my country, too and I think this is a good indication that traveling made us friends.

To sum, I believe that people can benefit a lot more from traveling to foreign countries than traveling in their own country for the reasons above. Although this view may not be shared by many people, I feel consistent in holding this opinion.