Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The automobile is destroying our quality of life.

Since the introduction of technology, industrialization is growing at an alarming rate. And utilizing automobiles increasingly on roads and highways in cities would be a resulted consequence. Although automobiles have had some benefits for users, the extravagantly usage of them are affecting the societies adversely. The following essay deals with the reasons supporting this point of view.

Undoubtedly, automobiles as fast means of transportation have provided some efficient opportunities for the populace of the cities. People can commute between their home and work place within a considerably much less period of time than before the advent of cars. In addition, it is obviously more comfortable for them just to sit in their car and drive it rather than travelling long distances on foot or by riding a horse as they do in ancient times. Therefore, today they not only can save a great amount of time, but also would experience convenience and freedom from hard past situations.

However, the increasingly large number of cars and automobiles which consume fuel would have devastating drawbacks in human’s life. First, the air pollution as a dangerous threat to human health would be inevitable. Traffic as a resulted effect of not decent public transportation and driving more private cars lead to more poisonous gases such as leaded gas in the air. And consequently, chronic diseases such as heart problems and respiratory diseases sour up. Second, using the automobiles can contribute to the sedentary lifestyle and less physical activities. People get use to the convenience of transportation and can not imagine going anywhere on foot and have some walking. For example, one may accustom to go to a park near his house by his car rather than by walking and enjoying a healthy evening with exercises.

In conclusion, besides the comfort that the automobiles have brought for us, its unpleasant disadvantages should not be disregarded.