Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Over the last few years, how people communicate with their family, friends, and other persons in the society has considerably changed and become a Controversial issue in sociology studies. One of the most important our connections is with extended family that has modified drastically. Some people support that today, extended family has lost its importance rather than it was in the past. I am also of the opinion that these relationships have faded for some reasons such as changing our lifestyle, the advent of technology, and being involved in daily activities that in the following I would explain further about my viewpoints.

First of all, these days people would rather live in a separate home and apartment from their extended family. However, this has contributed to reduce our relationships but it brings us a plethora of benefits like convenience and comfort. It means that in the past, although a family (consisting of parents, grandparents, children, aunts, uncles, and cousins) lived together in a big house and may they had close and tight relationships and were aware of all difficulties, troubles of their extended family and strived to help together, and also had impressive feasts, they may not have been comfortable together sometimes. For instance, in the past, a young couple did not have sufficient freedom and could not make a decision by themselves. However, today people live in a separate house and have complete independence.

In addition, the fast rapid of development technology could affect our relationships with our extended family and therefore, these family bonds have found low and inferior status among people. Nowadays, technologies like computer, Internet, and mobile phones have been replaced with our connections. As an illustration of this, consider the following example. Almost all people have a mobile phone or tablet in their pocket and whenever they have free time getting busy with them instead of going to visit their parents, grandparents or uncles.

Moreover, our relationships especially with the extended family have been impressed by getting engaged in daily activities, including our job, study, and university. In the past people had easier life than today, they did not a full load of financial problems and thus have not to work a lot. Nevertheless, today people are faced with plenty of financial difficulties. Ergo they spend more time at work environment and cannot pay close attention to their extended family.

To sum up, according to the aforementioned explanations, in my opinion advancing technology, altering our way of life, and daily pressures contribute to extended family lose its importance among people. It is plain as day that in the past, individuals established a tight and strong relationship with their extended family, which nowadays this relationship begins to disappear.