Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

You should not believe everything that you read in the newspaper. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

That the newspaper is a vital source of information nowadays is an undeniable fact. Newspaper plays an important role in our lives. By reading newspaper, businesspersons lead their business in accordance to changes, politicians make important decisions about the country, and people find a job. There are two distinct schools of thought about newspapers: Some people argue that we should not trust whatever the newspaper says; others disagree. From my vantage point, I am after the opinion that we should not believe everything that we read in the newspaper for the following significant reasons.

To begin with, newspaper is a business. Looking at it as a whole, some individuals work for a company that publishes newspaper regularly with intend to earn money and make a living. Hence, their sole purpose is to make more profit, no matter what. Indeed, there is a very high possibility that the reporters share misleading and inaccurate information in order to attract more people and sell more newspaper. The veracity of this claim can be evaluated through a meticulous observation on the mass of examples; my mother usually reads The National Iranian Newspaper, and she accidentally found two distinct statements. In one issue of the newspaper, the Land Ministry declared a sharp rise in the prices of lands in one region; however, in the next issue, she found the exact opposite. This clearly illustrates the fact that information in newspaper might be changed due to public’s interest intending to sell more newspaper.

Besides the above-mentioned reason, newspaper can be open to abuse. In order not to overgeneralize what was alluded to, this is a catastrophic incident in third world countries such as Iran, as far as I know, that government officials in high political positions hire agents to manipulate the data in the newspaper on behalf of them or their line of reasoning. Moreover, some of them institute their private newspaper company to publish misleading articles with aim to brainwash individuals. Indeed, in many societies, the question of how reliable the information presented in the newspaper is has become a contentious issue of debate among the insightful researchers and psychologists and caused quite a stir in numerous circles and camps.

In the final glance, among the most predominant reasons in support of this issue, censorship could be the next choice worth citing here for further discussion. Unquestionably, censorship is an indispensable part of each country’s policy. Governments do not allow the secrets and crucial information of a country to be published. Consequently, the information in the newspaper might be entirely right.

All in all, although some sophisticated persons may prove the otherwise, I still assert that one should not completely rely on the information in the newspaper. Due to the convincing arguments in the body paragraphs, I approve the author’s statement.