Do you agree or disagree? It is important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

The question is whether people should avoid making new friends and maintain the old friendships or not. Everyone with regard to his private viewpoint can retain a specific direction toward this statement; however, I am inclined to refute the aforementioned idea. There are several merits that new relationships can provide for us. I feel this way for some reasons, which I will explore them to empower my vantage point in following essay:

To begin with, one should not forget that old friends have been playing a pivotal role in our life; hence, making new friends does not mean to ignore our old peers. Nowadays, people are living in a technology-driven world; consequently, such a complex circumstance requires them to keep up themselves with the modern knowledge of society. For achieving new experiences and walking in prosperity roads, human beings have to connect to others. It goes without saying that meeting different people with diverse backgrounds can assist the young to share their opinions and obtain a variety of useful experiences. Attaching to the past and having stable function in a way will not be effective in such modern world.

The second reason for my argument lies in the fact that sometimes friends attempt to pursue their connections just for old dependence toward each other; however, they may not share their common interests. Besides, a new friend is able to motivate us to try new things. To elucidate, take my own experience. Last year, I had a chance to get familiar with a girl as my colleague. She made a decision to travel Roma and asked me to accompany her in this trip. Frankly, I was reluctant because I was always used to staying at home alone but this time, due to her insistence, I tried a new idea. In short, not only was watching Roma the best event in my life, but also it could stimulate me to study in archaeology field in the university.

Moreover, making new friends can help people to optimize interpersonal skills. Take a shy person who has trouble in confronting with strange people. If the same person is able to enter to the new relationships, his personality and self-confidence can boost.

As I have illustrated, I strongly agree with making new friendships. Despite all of its risks- as we all know today's, relying on people is very difficult than past- advantages that new friends bring us outweigh to its disadvantages like broadening knowledge base or experiencing new excitements.