Do you agree or disagree that progress is always good? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people are convinced that any development is always for better when others think that evolution has negative effects on the mankind. Personally, I think that technological progress is not always advantageous. There are a few reasons why I hold this stance.

First of all, development of technology has created unemployment. In the second half of the twentieth century, the sudden proliferation of computers in people`s life lead to a modernization of the majority of industries. Owners of large factories preferred use machines, operated by computers programs rather than a hand labor. In this way, people who used to work in the factories with their hands (carpenters, welders) lost their jobs. If people do not have a job and are not able to financially support their families, their life will become incredibly complicated. Although the total computerization has created new professions such as software engineers and programmers, a lion share of hand labor workers have had troubles to found a place to work. To that end, the evolution of the computer technology resulted in worldwide unemployment.

Secondly, the technological progress has been threatening people`s health. Nowadays, computers are ubiquitous. Millions of people use them every day at work and the biggest part of these people all day long are sitting in their offices and staring at the computers screens. When people did not move enough during the day, they could significantly increase in weight. Obesity, in turn, can lead to the life-threatening diseases such as diabetes. Complications of diabetes are terrible- some people lose their extremities, others struggle with kidneys insufficiency. Though there is plenty of modern medications, which help to control the level of the blood sugar, most of them are very costly and can not be afforded by every diabetic patient. Therefore, the development of computers is not beneficial for people`s well-being.

To conclude, I strongly believe that progress always has an egregious site. This is because it can make people sick and unemployed.