Do you agree or disagree that progress is always good? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people argue that a development was always for better since the progression in technology and medicine has been providing people with an extra free time and advanced medications. However, other people are convinced that progress is not always so positive. Personally, I think that any development has some negative consequences. There are a few reasons why I hold this stance.

To start with, the technological development has caused an environmental deterioration. In nineteen century, the industrial revolution took place. At that time, owners of large factories preferred to use machines rather than a hand labor to produce goods. Nowadays, all factories are operated by machinery. The machinery requires a huge amount of energy to run. The energy mostly produced by burning charcoal, gas or oil. In turn, the burning results in an emission of a tremendous amount of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, which causes a global warming. The consequences of the global warming are terrible – numerous species of animals have been disappearing. For instance, according to National Geographic magazine, the increase in global temperature has resulted in a population of fish in the Polar Region to decline. The fish is a food source for polar bears. If the bears have nothing to eat, they will eventually die out. To that end, the perspectives of the further technological progression could be quiet tragic.

Secondly, genetically modified products put humans` health in danger. The discovery of genes and their structure was one of the most prominent scientific breakthroughs in the history of the human race. By changing amino acids` sequences in a gene, scientists were able to create a variety of new foods for the mass consuming. The genetically modified food is tasty, inexpensive and has a long shelf life. However, the recent studies have revealed that this food causes a number of life-threatening ailments such as cancer. If people can find out that they have cancer at the very beginning of the disease, they will have a chance to cure. Otherwise, the consequences can be lethal. Despite the fact that these days, numerous modern drugs and techniques are available for people to treat this horrible illness, not everyone can afford them since they are extremely costly. Therefore, the development of genetic engineering has been threatening people`s well-being for the last decade.

To conclude, I think that any advancement has its benefits and drawbacks. This is because by improving one aspect of life on the planet the evolution disturbs the others by jeopardizing our health and nature.