Essay topics: TPO-34 - Independent Writing Task

(i devoted only miniscule amount of time to comparison of today's parenting with the one of the past)

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Contemporary parents often tend to complain about difficulties which are connected with educating a child in today's realities. They claim that this task has become extremely difficult because of the advent of cell phones, online games and social networks because their offspring usually spend too much time on them. Although I could understand their prospect, I cannot agree with it. The reasons on which my prospect is based will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, to control children's occupation and education is parents' responsibility. Parents must control their children's activity on a daily basis. This is parental basic responsibility because progeny by default might hardly organize and manage themselves. In fact, it is unnatural to devote time to studying or education they ought to have fun and run around. Thus a father or/and a mother should limit time which their child spends on the entertainment online or offline. A modern parent may easily curtail usage of the internet via usage of inbuilt means of Microsoft Windows.

Secondly, children participation to social networks and usage of cell phones may actually be beneficial for them. Social networks have become an inevitable part of our everyday life and educational system has embraced them as well. In fact, many school educators create groups in the Twitter, Facebook which are consisted of students, their parents and teachers. Consequently, youngsters benefit enormously from this innovation. Their assignments are available online, they may clarify understanding of problematic materials or issues with their classmates and even with teachers and smartphones, e-tables have made the social networks available 24/7 for them thus they always can access needed info.

Admittedly, there are some reasons which may allow to someone to state that social networks, cell phones and online games may impede pupils’ education. Chiefly, the one may aver that children spend all their time on playing video games and chatting with their friends about matters which have no connection with their studying. However, I still buttress the idea that those services are beneficial for offspring in case a parent does his job and supervises the activity of the child. In fact, by limiting access to the network, social media a parent gets a perfect tool for steering children's behavior, which if used wisely, greatly alleviates life of parents and which was unthinkable in the past.

To wrap up, the advent and spreading of the social networks, smartphones have mostly beneficial effect on children's education in case parents do their job properly and control children’s usage of the modern conveniences.