Essay topics: TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task

Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

-Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Under the circumstances described in the issue, I would definitely prefer to talk the leader after the end of the meeting because this approach has no glaring disadvantages but has serious advantages over other proposed options. The reasons on which my prospect is based will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, my opinion about a mistake may be incorrect and in order not to be ashamed I would prefer to wait till the end of the meeting and then discuss my viewpoint on the issue with the speaker. There are several possibilities, for instance, I might misunderstand speaker's words, I may have a wrong opinion which is based on obsolete information or, of course, the leader may be mistaken as well. Due to those options it is reasonable and wise to take a time and discuss the supposed mistake without people.

Secondly, the second option is better because it will not inevitably lead to spoiling relationships with the speaker or undermining his authority. By discussing the problem without witnesses the position of the leader will not be compromised. By contrast, interrupting the speaker in the middle of the meeting in front of the public who ought to obey his rule will definitely subvert the leader's authority and it may lead to a change in the leader's attitude to the person who corrected him. It is needless to say that this is undesirable outcome for the person who works under the leader because of conspicuous reasons.

Finally, keep silence is not a good option either because the leader may be unaware about the mistake but in some cases saying nothing may lead to grave and dire consequences for the speaker and even for the success of the company. For instance, we all heart about debacle of Samsung’s Note 7 smartphone, it is believed that one of the reason of the commercial disaster is stiff hierarchical structure of Korean society when employees are terrified to openly talk up to the boss and saying nothing about the mistake in the design led to the millions of dollars in losses. At the same time, having a conversation about the mistake may have easily annihilated the possible negative outcome for the corporation. Thus it is not only an option but a duty to talk to a responsible person about a noticed mistake.

Due to aforementioned ground, approaching of a meeting leader after the meeting is the most attractive, beneficial and reasonable option among ones which were stated in the issue.