“The government has announced that it plans to build a new university. Some people think that your community would be a good place to locate the university. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of establishing a new university in your community. Use specific details in your discussion.”

Educational institutes and universities are pillars that support the growth and advancement of any society. It provides a learning platform where the youth can attain knowledge and further help build a good future for themselves and contribute to the society as a whole. Though an asset at large ,the location for such institutes should be carefully chosen to avoid any local issues.

The recent plan for opening a university in our community is welcomed by some people . They believe it will help the locals in their educational aspiration. We now do not need to leave home and travel farther to gain quality education .The locals can alos access state of the art library and laboratory facilities. It will also help the nearby manufacturing industry with research projects. Moreover the construction and maintenance will attract a bevy of jobs Like teachers, office admins , cafeteria . It will help with the local economy. It will attract students and we will need to come up with accommodation for new immigrants lured by job and study etc. Overall it will be a win-win situation.

This step is also viewed skeptically by some members. Our community is already overcrowded and more people inhabit than the infrastructure can support . Building a university will put more pressure on the already crumbling infrastructure.The government should take note of the situation and complete development projects before the university is functional and attracts more immigrants. Secondly this area is residential and houses retirement homes for the elderly . It is close to the city but still away from the hustle and bustle , providing a calm ambience. The university will attract the college crowd and it may not be suitable for the seniors and ailing .It is better to construct university campus in the suburbs instead of increasing the congestion our community.

Thus opening a university has both its advantages and disadvantages . Everyone has an opinion based on their set of priorities . While some weigh the positives others focus on the negatives. Nonetheless it is a good step in improvement of the educational accessibility and job opportunities for all the locals.