The government has announced that it plans to build a new university. Some people think that your community would be a good place to locate the university. Compare the advantage and disadvantages of establishing a new university in your community. Use specific details in your explanation.

A new university in my community will have its pros-and-cons. My community will have lots of benefits with government’s plan to build a new university such as attract more student for education, enhance in surrounding business and many more. On the other hand, the drawbacks will also following the new plan such as traffic, noise and so on.

On the one side of the coin, a new university will bring more students to study higher education. Students surrounding my community will not have to travel far to study, so they can save their time and money of traveling and utilize it in doing their own personal tasks such as doing part time job, going for gym and so on. Furthermore, opportunity of employment will increase for my neighbors in community. More jobs will open in my area. People do not need to go far to search for a job. Additionally, it will be helpful for local commerce around the university area. The shops related to food, education tools and game zone will have more profit, if university will be built in my area. Thus, there will be a plenty of advantages of new university if it will be nearer to my community.

In the other side of the coin, as the population will increase closer to my residential area, traffic problems will increase. As many student will drive their personal vehicles to the university. Secondly, along with traffic, noise pollution will also increase surrounding my community. My community would not be then quiet and better place to live in. If university controls the use of the private vehicle and motivate their student to use public transportation, then both the problem will be solved. These road blocks are of less concerned compared to benefits.

To sum up all, I would say traffic and noise would not be a major concern as those factors can be controlled by us. The benefits of having university will improve my community by mean of literacy, employment and economic. Thus, I believe that it is a good idea to establish a new university in my community.