Holidays honor people or events. If you could create a new holiday, what person or event would it honor and how would you want people to celebrate it? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

In my opinion, birthday of the great cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar deserves to be nominated as a national holiday and should be celebrated with zeal throughout the nation. Sachin has done a lot for nation- brought joy to the face of billions of people and helped poor through his philanthropic activities. His birthday i.e. 24th april should be celebrated every year all across India.

Sachin brought joy in the lives of millions of people in India. Watching him play the game of cricket, people used to forget their sufferings, problems, workloads etc. and used to watch him score boundaries and sixes with immense pleasure and enthusiasm. His century was like an annual bonus for most of the people, while his getting out cheaply was like a national failure. People used to relate their lives with that of this great legend. Sachin, like most of the middle class Indians, was from a poor background and it was his work ethics, discipline, and passion towards the game that made him reach this high level. People derive inspiration from his life and feel motivated by watching his past innings in cricket. Sachin has been a great servant of this game for India and deserves this national honour.

Further, Sachin was also an active philanthropist. Post retirement, he has been actively involved in number of charities. He also runs his own cancer institute for only poor people and provides health care facilities to people suffering from this fatal disease free of cost. In addition, sachin also plays charity matches in order garner funds for various charities. Over the past few years, he has also been a part various awareness campaigns, which have been successful, related to sanitation, health and the joy of giving. Clearly, he has done a lot for society and he deserves this national recognition.

People of India should celebrate his birthday every year with great zeal and vigor. They should do something in their fields in order to bring joy to the face of atleast one poor person. By doing so, they would be paying respect to their hero, who has done a lot of such philanthopic task. For example, people can do charities, sponsor the education of atleast one child, take part in an awareness drive or campaign etc. Besides, every individual should play the game of cricket in one's area in order to remember Sachin. Clubs should organise 10 over cricket matches in their areas and should invite people to play this game as a mark of respect for this great cricketer.

In summary, government should declare 24th april as a national hoilday to remember and pay reverence to Sachin Tendulkar, who has done a lot for India through his philanthropic activities and has brought joy in the lives of Indians. People should also remember him on his birthday by playing atleast one game of cricket and by indulging in atleast one charitable act.