Holidays honor people or events. If you could create a new holiday, what person or event would it be honor and how would you want people to celebrate it? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

There are many holidays in the United States that I like such as Independence day, Easter, and Thanksgiving. Holidays bring people together. In my opinion, if I could create a new holiday I would like to create a holiday for people to celebrate older people. It could be a National holiday in which everyone could spend time with elderly people in family or in senior care homes. This holiday would honor older people, let them know that they are appreciated, and raise their self-esteem. I would call it the Senior Day.

To begin with, I strongly believe that older people are important and valuable; they have a lot to share regarding their life experiences. In my personal experience, I have struggled with problems many times in my life that I have shared with my parents or my grandparents. They always gave me useful advice for whatever the situation was based on their own experiences. I think their advice was the greatest assistance to me in making proper decisions in my life.

Furthermore, there are many old people in this country who have been abandoned by family members. Some of these people are sick and they may feel lonely and less important. Seeing this neglect of the elderly is very painful for me. In my native country, Thailand, elderly people are very important and everyone takes good care of their parents and grandparents until they pass away. I think the younger generations should take better care of the older generation.

Finally, because the Senior day would be a National holiday, people would have the day off. People would get together and celebrate the day with the older people in their family or in public places. Senior people would have the privilege of getting many things for free or discounts such as free meals, free movie tickets, and free bus tickets. In senior care homes, people would bring food, music, and fun games to join with them. I think this would make their lives happier.

In conclusion, the Senior Day would be beneficial for many older people in this country. People would get the day off and would have the opportunity to spend time to celebrate senior citizens in their family and publicly. It would make everyone happy and would enrich their lives.