A huge marine mammal known as Steller’s sea cow once lived in the waters around Bering Island off the coast of Siberia. It was described in 1741 by Georg W. Steller, a naturalist who was among the first Europeans to see one. In 1768 the animal became extinct. The reasons for the extinction are not clear. Here are three theories about the main cause of the extinction.

First, the sea cows may have been overhunted by groups of native Siberian people. If this theory is correct, then the sea cow population would have originally been quite large, but hundreds of years off too much hunting by the native people diminished the number of sea cows. Sea cows were a good source of food in a harsh environment, so overhunting by native people could have been the main cause of extinction.

Second, the sea cow population may have become extinct because of ecosystems disturbances that caused a decline in their main source of food, kelp (a type of sea plant). Kelp populations respond negatively to a number of ecological changes. It is possible that ecological changes near Bering Island some time before 1768 caused a decrease of the kelp that the sea cows depend on.

Third, the main cause of extinction of the sea cows could have been European fur traders who came to the island after 1741. It is recorded that the fur traders caught the last sea cow in 1768. It thus seems reasonable to believe that hunting by European fur traders, who possessed weapons that allowed them to quickly kill a large number of the animals, was the main cause of the sea cow’s extinction.

Essay topics in audio

In this set of material, the reading provides some evidences that suppose some hypothesizes about extinction of Stellar's sea cow, but the lecturer refuse them by giving explanation.

First, the reading claim that native Siberian people may use sea cows as main resources of food and they overhunted them because they were a good and reliable source of food. So, due to overhunting, population of Stellar's sea cow decreased over the time. In contrast, the lecturer rejects this idea by describing size and weight of sea cow; 90 meter long and 900 kilogram! He claimed that native people didn't need to hunt this creatures in a large scale because they could alive by just haunting couple of them for long period of time. So, some other reasons except ot this idea can be the main reason of extinction.

Second, as reading says, population of kelp, which was the main food source of sea cows, were decreased enormously because of ecological fluctuations. But, the lecturer gave explanations against to the claim. He believes that if kelps' population was affected by ecological changes, why these changes didn't impacted other creatures like whales too? As he told, reports from fish hunting ships didn't mentioned any shortages in quantity of fishes. So, this hypothesis could not be true.

Third, reading believes that the main reason for sea cow' disappearance could be European fur trades who hunted sea cows to obtain their fur and sell them in market. They usually used weapons and guns that able them to hunt many Stellar's sea cow in a short period of time. On the contrary, the lecturer rejected this viewpoint too. Based on his speeches, population of Stellar's sea cow were reduced before European fur trades arrive to Bering island. So, European fur trades were not able to access and hunt many sea cows because their population was already diminished.

In conclusion, maybe there is some other reasons exist that can explain Stellar's sea cows extinction.