If you could study a subject that you have never had the opportunity to study, what would you choose? Explain your choice using reasons and details.

The twentieth century is considered as a miraculous era in scientific and technological advances. Many passionate scientists and researchers around the world devoted their life to increase their knowledge and enhance the quality of people’s life. As a chemical engineer, if I could opt a subject to study, I would have to choose Nanotechnology for the following reasons.

To begin with, Nanotechnology is often referred as the groundwork for the next industrial revolution. In the last decades, nanotechnology has found many applications in various fields of study such as materials, medical sciences, petroleum industry and electrical sciences. Because I am very passionate in science and technology, I would like to learn more about nanotechnology, which allow me to conduct some substantial researches. Because of innovative and novel nature of this science, there are many rooms for inventions and new ideas. I am very interested in achieving something new that obviating people’s future demands.

Besides, the novelty of nanotechnology, scientists believe that nanotechnology could be the only means to solve the future issues of the earth planet. Global warming, air pollution, groundwater contamination and energy crisis are well-known troubles people hear a lot these days, which have challenged many researchers and scientists for years. The different approach of nanotechnology in solving current problems has showed many signs of hope. For example, engineered nano-materials have been fabricated that are able to absorb the hazardous chemicals existing in the air and the groundwater. Indeed, thanks to nanotechnology, we may have no air and groundwater contamination.

What’s more, nanotechnology has revolutionized the medical sciences. Owing to multi-functional nano-particles, doctors can treat cancer now. Moreover, nano robots showed potential use in increasing human’s intelligence. To be more specific, this would be unbelievable when we consider the astounding outcomes. Smarter scientists will increase the pace of technology substantially. There is no the end for nanotechnology.

To conclude, I prefer to study nanotechnology because it’s both new and beneficial for humankind.