Increasingly, robots and computers are being used to do work that humans once had to do for themselves. Some people believe the effect of this change will be mostly positive and helpful for humans. Other people believe that robots and computers will take too many jobs away from humans who are currently paid to do them. Which view do you agree with and why?

In today’s modern world, technologies such as industrial robots, artificial intelligence, and machine learning are being developed with high speed. It is said that the job market and the kind of individuals' work are the aspects of today's life which have been affected by these technologies. With this in mind, one controversial question is that whether robots and computers may have detrimental effects on people' life and work or otherwise. I, personally, do believe that the robots have quite a few advantages and can bring a better life for individuals for two reasons that are elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, it is evident that human error and inaccuracy are inseparable parts of one’s performance, whereas precision is the most important characteristic of robots which is measurable. In addition, robots have the ability of repeatability—that is doing the same tasks over and over again with high precision. Needless to say that fatigue, as well as the lack of accuracy and concentration in a person, are more likely to culminate in irreparable damages. For example, in recent years, medical science thanks to computers and robots have been much more advanced so much so that the riskiest and hardest surgeries, which need “high accuracy,” can be done. Therefore, is it logical to ignore the influence of robots and not use them simply because the number of doctors who perform a surgery instead of a robot will be decreased? Undoubtedly, if robots are along with people, extraordinary successes can be achievable.

The second debatable point is that although some pessimistic people think that robots can take jobs away from humans, robots even can result in job creation apart from valuable advantages for life. It is obvious that robotics need a wide spectrum knowledge—such as computer, electronic, mechanic and to name but a few. In other words, building robots is a new broad realm that numerous people can work on and make money which is nothing short of economic growth. For instance, the ones who do ordinary tasks in factories can be replaced with robots. By so doing, not only can accuracy and work speed increase, but those people can be used as the workforce in another area that tends to help the economy in an effective manner as well. Hence, the more economic growth a country has, the more prosperous life people can live.

In conclusion, given the fact that technologies such as robotics can have beneficial uses in different kinds of field, developing them might play a crucial role in ones’ lives. Increased automation does not mean individuals will be out of work or robots can take the place of humans. Rather, they can be used to refine the standards of humans’ lives and thus we should not take them for granted.