It is easier for parents to raise children now than 50 years ago.

People often possess different perspectives on whether it is easier for parents to raise children now than 50 years ago. Based on my personal observation and experience of life, I agree that it is easier to raise children now.

First of all, families nowadays are much wealthier than those 50 years ago. That is to say, today parents usually can afford spending on raising children. However, 50 years ago, many parents could hardly earn their own livings. For example, my mom was born in a wealthy family about 50 years ago. My mom’s neighbors, unfortunately, was not as wealthy. Therefore, some of them went through abortion when they now they are expecting a baby, or give out their young children to the wealthy people due to lack of money to raise them. Today we could hardly heard of any stories like this anymore.

Secondly, the hygiene is much more established now than 50 years before. Children today can survive more easily and lead a healthier life. On the other hand, the hygienic conditions were very poor 50 years ago in the place I live in. Many children were killed by common diseases such as flu or virus infection. Take my father as an example. He was seriously ill a few weeks after birth. After sent to the hospital, the doctor could do nothing since they did not have enough equipment and medicine. My father eventually survived with the help from a traditional Chinese doctor. My father was fortunate, but not all were as lucky. In fact, the death rate of newborn babies 50 years ago was as high as 30 percent. Therefore, it was really difficult for parents to raise children at that time.

Finally, the welfare is largely improved over the past 50 years. The government would subsidize parents if they are expecting a baby or raising a child. For example, in the county I live in, a family gets five thousand NTD for upon the birth of their child. Furthermore, they can have an annual income to support them to raise their children. This was hardly imaginable 50 years ago. At that time, parents need to earn hard money to support themselves and their children. Therefore, it becomes even easier to raise a child due to welfare.

In conclusion, due to the improved condition in economy, hygiene, and welfare, I strongly agree that it is easier today for parents to raise children than 50 years ago.