It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

Knowledge of each person is an important character which has direct relationship with him/her value in society. The source people gain their knowledge is also plays an essential role in accuracy and quality of knowledge. Some people believe that books are the best source for gaining of different kind of knowledge. Others believe that experience is the best way for obtain knowledge. In my view, experience is more important than books in gaining knowledge for two important reasons.

First of all, the knowledge which is based on experience remains longer in our memory than those obtained from books. When you learn something by reading books, your obtained knowledge doesn’t go deep memory and it’s the reason of why we need to practice to get mastery in a lot of skills such as using software, swimming, driving and etc. My own experience learning an air pollution modelling software is a good example of this. During university studies when I had needed to learn an air pollution model to pass a course, I started to read two rudimentary and famous books in this category. The result of this reading only was a shallow knowledge which I couldn’t use them in real condition. After three years and during my first experience of working on a company, I was asked to work on an air pollution modelling project. Today, after about five years of finishing that project, I can remember all things that I had learned during working. As you can see the experience based knowledge is highly durable in memory.

Secondly, we cannot be sure about the validity of books information as well as the books based knowledge. This is because of the fact that books are based on author’s knowledge and considering that we cannot be sure about author’s knowledge so it’s logical that we be skeptical about the information which books give us. For example, I had read a book about an historical building 3 years ago. Based on this book, building has 10 meters height, 20 meters width, and 25 meters length. Also the book had mentioned that there are a lot of three around the building. However when last year I went to visit that place I found all dimensions in different magnitudes in a way that it was so bigger than what the book had given and also there were no threes around the building. This examples demonstrates how a book can give us wrong information.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that knowledge gained from experiences is more important than knowledge gained from reading books. This is because books are sometimes inaccurate, and because our personal memories stay with us longer than the facts we read about in print.