It is impossible to be completely honest with our friends.

Friendship is based on trust. Some people argue that we should tell truth to our friends whatever happens, while others hold an opposite opinion. As for me, I agree with the latter one.

First, it is advisable to keep our own secret to protect ourselves. When it comes to personal secrets, such as family background, salary or sexual preference, it is acceptable not to tell the truth. If everyone has to be completely honest to their friends, what if a gay is asked to answer their sexual preference by his friends publicly. Should he tell the truth and afford the risks that it might be heard by others? Can the friendship maintain? How stressful and desperate he is if he is bullied and discriminated because of his honesty? It doesn’t mean, of course, we can’t believe that our friends can keep our secret. However, let’s face it, everyone is constantly changing. Every person may react impulsively without any careful consideration. Even close as friends, we should give each other some space and leave their secret unknown.

Second, it is preferable not to tell truth to avoid causing conflicts, especially for some small affairs. For example, when two girls, named A and B, go shopping together, it doesn’t matter for A not to tell the true feelings about the clothes B like because it can be extremely embarrassed to criticize about every cloth B has tried. B will feel disappointed and even question whether it is a good idea to go shopping with A or diffident about her own appearance and figure. Different people have a unique taste, which contributes to disagreements and quarrels easily. It doesn’t matter if we hide our true feeling about some small and trivial things. However, telling the truth can lead to nothing beneficial but leading to fighting and breaking the harmonious relationship in the end.

Third, friends can tell white lies even for some big events and activities for our friends’ goodness. Instead of informing our friends about our poor economic condition, we pretend we are living in a decent condition to ease our friends’ concerns. Concealing how sad we are after breaking up with the boyfriend or girlfriend enables our friends to stop worrying about us and pursuing their own business. In addition, our friends can perform better with more peaceful mindset if we comfort him by telling the position he is applying is not so competitive. By encouraging our friends about the non-existing new researches have succeeded, our friends might be more positive and keep a strong mind to fight against cancer. White lies give our friends hope and faith, release their stress and concern. For our friends, it is acceptable to tell lies on occasion.

All in all, when it comes to our own secrets, disagreements about trivial stuff or important event, telling lies is actually a better choice to protect ourselves, maintain the friendship and help our friends.