It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Friends are integral part of one's life. I personally, believes that we do need new friends from different stage to stage in our life. New friends can share new knowledge, they can help us meet new people and most importantly there is always someone for you when old friends are away.

First of all, new friends means a chance to share new things. We receive a great opportunity to learn language , some information or a new way of doing things we already do. We can also share our knowledge which will also helps in doubling our existing knowledge. For example, in my high school, we had a new classmate who transferred from another city to our school. After becoming friends with him I was able to learn his language and culture which was quite different from mine. I gained lot of information about art and literature written in his language. It certainly broadened my horizon.

Furthermore, in addition to learning new stuff I was able meet new people. My new friend not only introduced me to his roommates but also with his friends from other school. I got an opportunity to make several friends, which help me develop a great network of friends. We all including my old friends use to hangout together on weekends and do many fun activities on weekend. It's really enjoyable to spend time with so many people. You never get bored and there is always someone for your company.

Finally, some might argue that making new friends even though you are having old friends can waste lot of time, which can be use to nurture the friendship with the old friends. But, I argue that it's really worth spending that time with new people as well, because sometimes we cannot depend on old friends, they might leave the town to settle in another city or they are not able to help you for several personal reasons. In that case if you have many friends such as old and new you can get help from everyone. You get more people to share your feelings.

To wrap up, I conclude that is necessary to make new friends at every step in our life because it will broaden your interests, provide lots of shoulder to cry on in case of sadness and old friends may not last with you forever.