Many students have to live with roommates while going to school or university. What are some of the important qualities of a good roommate? Use specific reasons and examples to explain why these qualities are important.

When we go to the university, it is a good and valuable experience to live with our roommates. Roommates are people who will talk, play and live with you all day long. I think there are two important qualities that good roommates need. That includes willingness to share and cooperate.

Because some students spend lots of time in our dormitory studying their materials, it is important for roommates to work hard. We can be encouraged when the surround people are working hard. Take me as an example. I don't like to go to library in the university, because it is too far for me. I choose to stay in my room to prepare my exams and homework. My roommate, Ken, who is the top one in his department , study hard and have a very wild knowledge. I enjoy talking with him and listening his interesting ideas. Besides that, his major is mechanical engineering and he also is willing to help me to solve the problem in some subjects in science, like calculus and linear algebra. He shares his first-hand experience about the subjects and the methods with me. I really appreciate his willingness and knowledge. Hence, I believe that sharing is a good quality for roommates.

Living with our roommates means that we are not alone and have to cooperate with each other. In my university, the students living in the dormitory must to attend the activities hold by the manager of the dormitory. Once, in the very first fresh year we have to clean the street near our place together. Our room is assign to a place and we have to handle it. We are not much familiar with each other, so we start in a little bit awkward situation. In my opinion, the manager want to teach us how to deal and cooperate with your roommates, because we will face a lot of daily housework together. We need to learn to work well.

To sum up, I think being a good roommate means to be willing to share and to cooperate. We spend most of our school time in our dormitory, so ,I think, choosing a good roommate is key to be successful in the university.