Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.

Some people think that parents nowadays are more helpful to their children than parents in the past. People think that because the advance in technology, today’s parents become more knowledgeable and helpful for their children. Although I understand their point of view, I have a different opinion. I believe that parents in the past are more helpful to their children. The basis of my opinion is educational ,social and personal.

From the educational perspective, parents were considered to be the most important example to their children. Parents passed on value to their children. Parents were the best role model to their children. They were the most valued source of education. The education was only enclosed between school and home. Parents in the past were able to help their children in homework and all their school work. On the other hand, nowadays there are many other sources of education in which children can rely on. For instance, with the advancement in technology all students have access to internet. Each student has his own laptop. Students today are in no need to their parents help. All students can surf the internet and get information and help through their computers. That is why I consider parents in the past were more involved in their children’s education.

Socially, the social lives of moms in the past allowed them to be more involved in their children’s education. In the past moms had more time to spend with their children and were involved in their education process. For instance, I can remember when I was a child in primary school, after coming back from school my mom was always at home waiting for us. She prepared a healthy meal. She stared to study and helped us to understand the curriculum better. All her attentions and care were managed toward us. However, today’s moms are really busy. They are working or studying for an advanced degree to get a better job. Moms today are not involved in their children’s education as before. The school and the technology are the best sources of information to lead children in their education. In the past the social life style was really accommodated for all parents to help their children educationally.

Personally, for me as I am a mom and I have three children, I am not involved in my kid’s education as my mom was. I am working full time. I have to take care of my home, such as, shopping, cleaning and every day home tasks. I do not have time to stay with my kids and help them in their homework. In contrast, my mom was only taking care of the home and us. All her responsibilities were to help us to success in our education. That is why I believe that parents today are not involved in their children education.

In conclusion for the reasons I mentioned above, I completely agree that parents in the past were more involved in their children’s education than parents today. Nowadays technology and advancement prohibit many parents from helping their children. Parents today are really busy to consume their time to help children in their education.