A person should never make an important decision alone

Some people prefer to make all their critical decisions by their own, while others never make a decision without consulting with others. In my perspective, we should never make hard decisions alone. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in following essay.

First of all, we cannot evaluate all aspects of a situation alone, because our information is never adequate enough. By consulting someone who has faced similar situation, we can carefully weigh up different options. For example, when I graduated from high school ten years ago, I had to choose between enrolling in either a public university or a private one. I sought advice from one of my teachers who has attended both kinds of universities. He informed me that public schools in Iran provides students with more productive classes, therefore I chose a public university. If I hadn’t discussed this with my teacher, I may have made a wrong decision.

Secondly, I feel that when we make decisions alone, we are more likely to make hasty and arbitrary decisions. On the contrary, when we discuss our problems with others, we take our time to think all the details through. For instance, last year I was about to make an impulsive purchase; I decided to buy a luxury automobile. It seemed a good idea to me at the time, but after a consult with my friend, I realized that the prices are likely to drop in next two months; therefor it is better to postpone car purchasing.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is better not to make difficult decisions alone. By consulting others, it is more probable to make a rational and deliberate decision.