Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them

It is widely believed that computer games are of no benefit to children; therefore, the subject of whether children should be permitted to play computer games is of increasing concern. In my point of view, the time children are allowed to play video games should be restricted.

First and foremost, excessive use of video games would cause children not to have adequate quality time to spend on their school lessons, resulting in low performance at school. Not only does playing video games waste children’s time, it also leads to lack of concentration. Recent researches have indicated that kids who spend plenty of time in front of a computer monitor playing games, are more likely to have difficulty focusing on their studies or face memory problems.

Furthermore, computer games keep children at home and away from other kids, therefore they lose the opportunity to improve communication skills in face to face situations. Since social skills are of paramount importance to be successful in modern age, it is necessary that parents encourage children to play less video games and instead do more outdoors activities. In addition, playing video games prevents children from exploring the world around them and impedes their creativity development.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the amount of time children devote to playing computer games should be strictly limited. In my opinion, playing these games should be replaced with worthwhile activities like doing sport, pursuing a hoppy, and playing outside, which all are beneficial to develop new skills. Since childhood is the best time to learn critical skills, children should not miss this significantly important stage of life.