Should children play for fun or compertition

The first and foremost reason that justifies the thesis is that the childhood era is the most precious time in our life that has momentous impact on our life and is not going to be repeated. As we all are aware, during our childhood, we should acquire the basic concept of routine life, but children are prone to be distracted and bored by academic education. This left us with one choice, learning through playing. This will have a beneficial outcome only if it contains amusement for kids and to engender fun in play, the best way is to avoid competition and play merely for fun. As a survey that monitors children learning ability conducted by the MIT University indicates, a group of children who played games for fun performed thirty-five percent better that a group of kids played games for competition.

Another equally crucial aspect that requires meticulous attention is that playing with other children furnishes an opportunity of expanding social relation for a child. This can happen only if an amicable atmosphere is available for all children. To create a friendly and congenial environment, it is imperative to avoid any competition and children should be encouraged to play just for fun. The result of an experiment published in the Times Magazine vividly demonstrates it. Children are more likely to find permanent friends in times that they play a game for fun rather than the time of competition.

The former reasons proffered above should not insinuate that competition should be omitted from daily life of child. Conversely, competing with others is the key to progress in our life and can present us a clear indication of our strengths and limitations. Therefore, it is vital to let children to compete with each other to obliterate their weak points and thrive their potential strengths. Our life is a prominent example of it, we all have encountered many competing situations in our life, especially in childhood, that have assisted us to grow stronger. For instance, by competing in a national education exam in the age of six, I became aware of my strength in mathematics and my weakness in chemistry, which in turn assisted me to flourish and progress in mathematics and dedicate more time to chemistry so as to improve in that field too.