SHOULD A CITY TRY TO PRESERVE ITS OLD, HISTORIC BUILDINGS OR DESTROY THEM AND REPLACE THEM WITH MODERN BUILDINGS? USE SPECIFIC REASONS AND EXAMPLES TO SUPPORT YOUR OPINION.

Development in any field indicates sign of progress. Similarly infrastructure of city improves with the development of new buildings and premises. However many argue to retain the old buildings due to its historical importance. It is incomprehensible whether to remove historical buildings by building new ones as both have their distinct benefits and importance. In my opinion, it is better for cities to build new buildings to cop up with the rapidly evolving world.

Firstly, constructing new building would improve over all architecture and infrastructure of the city because modern designs and patterns would be used. For instance Dubai, a well-developed city of opportunities has recently completed construction of World’s biggest mall; it has more than 1800 stores to facilitate citizens and visitors, that offer’s versatile collection of clothing and International brands. Many restaurants and saloons are also included in the directory of mall. Moreover, it has become must visit place of Dubai for the tourists due to its exquisite features and having its name in Genius book of the world.

Secondly, new building would require low maintenance but provide ancillary facilities require by building owners such as parking, Lifts and escalators rather than staircases. It would also help many international companies to build their offices in the city that would enhance businesses and employment opportunities. Government would earn more revenue due to industrial and corporate developments. Adding to it, residence would get options of purchasing modern and fancy houses. New buildings would have enough parking spaces that will discourage people to park anywhere in the city.

Historical buildings have different aesthetic value but they are difficult to maintain. Also it would require healthy sum of money periodically. On the other hand, new buildings would have all numerous hi tech facilities at the cost of less efforts and resources to maintain it.