Should university give financial support to sports and social activities or to the classes and library?

"Healthy minds live in the healthy bodies". The body can be healthy by doing regular exercise or sports activities. Similarly Human beings are social animal. To fit well within the society they need to participate in the social activities. Many people may agree that since students' main purpose of going college is to gain knowledge, they should devote their time in classes and libraries only and so the financial supports for these should be more than the other activities. As far as I am concerned, universities should provide equal funds to the sports and social activities as for the classes and libraries.

First, continuous studies can be hectic and monotonous for the students. As the proverb says “all work and no fun made jack a dull boy". Sports and social activities can act as stress buster for the pupils. For instance, I was watching a documentary on CNN which says that continuous study without break decreases brain's ability to absorb more knowledge. Contrary to that by taking a break brain's capacity is rejuvenated. Sports and social activities can be the best source for giving the rest to the brain. If universities sports facilities are developed with financial support, the students can take a break from studies and can feel relaxed by playing table tennis or other games.

Second, with good funding to the sports activities, universities can develop advanced gyms and sports clubs that may inspire students to excel in the sports. The main purpose of the colleges to invest more in classes and libraries is to bring name and fame to the universities. This can be done with the sports activities also. For instance, my university is well known for our hockey captain rather than our university topper. Moreover not only in the city but these students can bring the honor to the university at the international level by participating in the Olympics and other international competition.

Last, many students want to pursue their career in the sports considering they are good in that, not in studies. In such scenario if college only promotes to the educational activities, it may demotivate them. Think if Kapil Dev was not provided with the better cricket facilities, he would have not been able to be a successful sportsman. The better facilities are possible only with good financial support from the universities.

By the way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored, I am of the opinion that universities should contribute financial support equally to the sports and social activities as they contribute to the classes and libraries.