In some countries, teenagers have jobs while they are still students. Do you think this is a good idea? Support your opinion by using specific reasons and details.

In today’s world, almost both developed and developing countries are facing financial problems. This becomes more serious in the latter ones. In these countries, usually, younger people like teenagers should work during their school ages. Even though some sociologists may think that this is a sound choice, but clearly, it will lead to some possible adverse consequences.

To begin with, this kind of working fills teenagers’ time, and so, deprives them of studying better. To put it in a different way, teenagers replace some parts of their study time with working, because, relevant officials have considered the conditions, and thereafter, have determined how much time should be spent by students at schools in order to have enough time to study, sleep, have fun, and so on. My older brother, John, who is a professor of Civil Engineering at Simon Fraser University now, as a case in point, is always telling me that his present-day success is due to his proper studies all through the time he was student in high school. He would have been prosperous as he is now, unless he had studied well. What’s more, tiredness is another factor that may diminish the quality of study. Because, almost all jobs, no doubt will make workers exhausted at the end. In general, it does not seem to be perfect for teenagers to work, as a wise person said, “The more you study, the better life you will have in future.”

In addition to declining study time, teenagers’ working may contribute to some mental damages. Workplaces are full of different kinds of people, thus, the possibility of encountering with rude persons would increase for teenagers. Consequently, it may lead to some unfavorable influences on their personality. Also, because of age difference, they may learn things which are not suitable for them. A research on people’s manner which was done by University of Western Ontario on June 24, 2001, as an illustration, shows that in Toronto, about 89 percent of people who used to have job when they were teenager are suffering from inappropriate behavior. Taking into account all these factors mentioned, if teenagers have job, they will presumably get mentally hurt.

In conclusion, although teenagers’ working may somewhat lead to a better financial status for a developing country, or at least, for their family, but it would definitely have serious effects on them. And as a sociology student, I, personally, believe that it is not a good idea for teenagers to have jobs.