Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed (damaged) by human activity. Others feel that human activity makes the Earth a better place to live. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The quality of human life has improved greatly over the past few centuries, but Earth is being harmed more and more by human activity. As we develop our technolo- gy, we use more and more natural resources and cause more and more pollution. As our population grows, we destroy more and more natural areas in order to expand towns and cities. The Earth is being harmed, and this harms people as well.

We often act as if we have unlimited natural resources, but this isn't true. if we cut down too many trees to build houses and make paper, not all the trees will grow back.

if we catch too many fish, thefish population will get smaller and smaller. if we aren't careful about how we use our natural resources, we will lose many of them. We are already losing some.

We don't seem to pay attention to the amount of pollution human activity can cause. Our cars pollute the air. Our factories pollute both the air and the water. We ' throw our waste into rivers and streams. We act as if the air and water can clean them- selves up, but they can't.

As urban populations grow, the cities grow too, taking over more and more land. New houses, stores, and office buildings are built all the time. Land that was once forest orfarms is now parking lots and apartment buildings. We seem to act as if we have unlimited land, but we don't. We need toplan more carefully so that we use our limited land in the best way

possible.eople need to respect the Earth and try to preseroe it. If we don't, we will lose all the natural resources that we depend on for life. Then what will happen?